June 29, 2002
Most Rev. Peter K. Sarpong, STD, DD receives his Pallium from Pope John Paul II on the feast of St. Peter.

The Diocese of Kumasi was established in 1950. Since the present Archbishop took over the Diocese in 1970, it has been divided into 5 dioceses, namely, Kumasi, Sunyani, Obuasi, Konongo-Mampong, and Goaso. This phenomenal growth is also an indication of the intensity of the work that goes on with it.

The area of the Archdiocese of Kumasi is 5.12 square miles and has about 1.6 million inhabitants, with around 500,000 in the rural areas. We have 34 parishes, with 158 outstations.